The Centre for Sustainable Technologies (CST) established as the Centre for ASTRA (Application of Science and Technology for Rural Areas) in 1974 is an IISc inter-disciplinary research and technology development center for providing sustainable solutions to a host of global concerns, primarily dealing with energy, water, buildings, and environment. The Centre's focus is on promoting Sustainable Technologies tailored to suit local conditions of resource availability and habitation. The Golden Jubilee Celebration of CST features a series of events throughout the year, including lectures, workshops, panel discussions, outreach activities and sustainability summit during 19-20 July 2024. These events bring together researchers, policymakers, and industry leaders to discuss the critical challenges and opportunities related to sustainable technologies. 




Key Features of the Sustainability Summit

  • Reminiscence of the history and achievements of CST
  • Invited talks by prominent researchers in the sustainability domains
  • Panel discussion with the research groups of CST
  • Connect with Alumni, Industry and CST.


Ajay Raghavan, Bangalore Creative Circus

Anil Kumar Gupta, Founder, Honey Bee Network, SRISTI, GIAN and NIF

Anjan Ray, IIT Delhi

Ashok Kumar Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

B. V. Venkatarama Reddy, Indian Institute of Science (Retd.)

Brajesh Kumar Dubey, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

H. N. Chanakya , Indian Institute of Science (Retd.)

H. S. Mukunda, Indian Institute of Science (Retd.)

N. H. Ravindranath, Indian Institute of Science (Retd.)

P Selvam, Indian Institute of Technology Madras

Pratibha Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Sampriti Mahanty, University College London

Subhasis Ray, XLRI Jamshedpur 

Sudhakar Rao, Indian Institute of Science (Retd.)

Swapnil Joshi, Infosys

Vinod Tare, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Organising Committee:

Lakshminarayana Rao (co-chair)

Venkataraghavan R (co-chair)

Madhavi Latha G

Monto Mani

Navneet Kumar Gupta

Souradeep Gupta

Sreenivasan Ramaswami

Yagnaseni Roy




+91 80 2293 2447





Submit your abstracts for posters here

Young researchers are particularly encouraged.  

Deadline: 30 June 2024





Join us as we celebrate 50 years of contribution    
to sustainable development & get connected …

Register here now


          Programme coming up soon...